Page content Page content Section navigation Topic navigation Accessibility keys Sitemap Search Contact us portal
Go to Waikato Regional Council homepage
search icon mail icon contact us icon

  Council » Policies and Plans » Plans under development » PROPOSED WAIKATO REGIONAL PLAN CHANGE 1 » Technical Alliance

Technical Alliance


The Technical Alliance is an impartial, advisory group of specialists who will provide technical information to the Collaborative Stakeholder Group and to Te Rōpū Hautū (project steering group).

They will collate, analyse, summarise and present environmental, social, cultural and economic information about the rivers and the consequences of different land management scenarios.

Collectively the Technical Alliance has expertise in:

  • water quality
  • soil stability and land management
  • catchment and water quality modelling
  • aquatic ecosystems (invertebrates, fisheries)
  • riparian (land and water interface)
  • mātauranga Māori
  • farm systems
  • land management systems (across main land use types)
  • economic outcomes (including at property and catchment level)
  • social outcomes
  • health issues associated with water quality.

Information from the Technical Alliance will also be used by decision makers on the proposed plan change.

View information about what the Technical Alliance has been working on.

Composition and members

The Technical Alliance comprises a core seven member Technical Leaders Group and a wider Technical Support Group that will be called upon as and if required.

The Technical Alliance was established following feedback from key stakeholders at a workshop in September 2013, at which its structure, size, membership, funding and operation were discussed.

Membership of the Technical Leaders Group was announced on 13 May 2014. Read the media release.

The Technical Leaders Group members are:

Dr Bryce Cooper, General Manager - Strategy, NIWA

Dr Liz Wedderburn, Portfolio Leader Agriculture Policy and Maori Agribusiness Principal Scientist, AgResearch

Mr Antoine Coffin, Director, Te Onewa Consultants

Dr Graeme Doole, Professor of Environmental Economics, University of Waikato

Dr Mike Scarsbrook, Environment Policy Manager, DairyNZ

Dr John Quinn, Chief Scientist - Freshwater and Estuaries, NIWA

Dr Tony Petch, Director, Tony Petch Consulting Ltd

Selection process

The Technical Leaders Group was established using a Request for Proposal process, which sought a chair and six members:

  • with recognised expertise relevant to the project
  • able to work in a cross-disciplinary manner, integrate mātauranga Maori into the outcomes and identify and prioritise research required
  • who understand the role of the Technical Alliance in informing policy development.

The Technical Support Group was established using an Expression of Interest process, which sought to establish a panel of available specialists with relevant skills, knowledge and experience and the ability to communicate information clearly and deliver reports in a timely manner. The Technical Leaders Group will make recommendations to Te Rōpū Hautū (project steering group) on use of the Technical Support Group to best meet the information needs of the Collaborative Stakeholder Group and the project.

Selection processes ran from December 2013 to January 2014.

About the Technical Alliance

Read the Terms of Reference - Technical Alliance.

About this site     Contact us     Feedback and complaints New Zealand Government